Legal Status of Payday Loans by State
This page shows the costs of payday loans in each state and why payday loans are legal. In dollars, the cost of payday loans is listed. The annual interest rate for a $100 loan is shown for 14 days.
These pages provide information about the maximum loan amount a consumer may take out and any restrictions regarding loan renewals or extended repayment terms.
Lenders may charge late repayment fees and threaten criminal action against borrowers who are unable to pay the loan amount.
In some states, payday lending isn’t allowed.
If there are loan rate or usury caps in certain states, the state page will provide the citation of the law that restricts rates and the small loan rate cap.
Contact Information for State Regulators
Each state page includes contact information, a website, and a state payday loan regulator. Every state page has a link that allows you to file a complaint with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.
What’s the status of payday lending?
Payday loans are small loans that you sometimes may get on the same day and are subject to regulation by the state. States have historically set small loan rates at between 24 and 48 percent annual interest and minimum monthly repayments. Many states have criminal usury laws to protect consumers.
Payday loans with triple-digit interest rates in states that have deregulated small loans are legal.
Extremely high-cost payday loans are prohibited in 16 states and the District of Columbia.
Payday loans can be banned in certain states. Rate caps can also be set by the state to protect their citizens.
Georgia racketing laws prohibit payday loans. New York and New Jersey criminal usury statutes prohibit payday lending. Payday loans are limited to 25 percent and 30 percent annually. In Arkansas, the state constitution restricts loan rates to 17% annually.
After you allow high-cost payday loans to be approved, in New Hampshire in 2009, payday loan rates were capped at 36% annually. Montana voters approved a ballot initiative that would limit loan rates to 36% annually in 2010.
It was implemented in 2011. Colorado’s similar ballot measures were approved by voters, which cap interest rates at 36% for 2018. South Dakota voters approved a 2016 ballot measure of 75% to lower the interest rates for payday, car title, and installment loans to 36% per year.
In Arizona, the 2008 ballot initiative to allow payday loans were rejected by voters, leading to the repealing of the legislation authorizing the loan in 2010. In North Carolina, although payday lending was briefly tried, the law that allowed it was eventually repealed.
Loans were found to trap borrowers in debt. In the United States of Connecticut, Maryland, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Vermont, and West Virginia, payday loans were never approved. Payday loans were never approved. District of Columbia was repealed.
Payday lending is available in three states that allow for lower rates
Three states allow small loans to be secured by access to the borrower’s bank account. These rates are lower than the average. Maine, a $250 loan for two weeks $250 has a 30-year interest rate.
However, tiered fees allow for up to 261% annual interest rates. Oregon payday loans with a minimum term of one month at 36 percent interest, $10 per $100 borrowed as initial loan fees, and $10 per $100 repaid are available.
For the initial loan, a $250 one-month loan costs you 154 percent per year, and for subsequent loans, it will cost you 36 percent. In New Mexico, we set a cap on APR at 175% to limit high-cost lending and increased the loan term by 120 days. Instead of making one payment at the end, the loan will require four payments.
Payday loans with high-cost rates have been approved in 31 states.
Thirty-two state legislatures have either approved payday loans or closed loopholes that allow the industry to make high-cost loans.
These are the types available for payday loans: Alabama, Alaska, California, and Delaware. Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Wyoming, and Illinois.
Payday lending is legal in Ohio despite the 2008 ballot-setting rates caps. Other laws were adopted by the industry, which was not changed by Ohio’s legislature.
Some states have restrictions on the risk of debt-trap. Washington limits borrowers to eight loans each year, according to its law. Virginia law requires that loans are paid in two pay cycles. Virginia lenders have the option to avoid these requirements by structuring loans in unregulated, open-end credit lines.
online short-term loans
payday loan debt
lenders can charge
cycle of debt
loan interest rate
capped payday loan
state attorney general
ability to repay
high-cost payday lending